Kathy Jone’s Unuseable Scraps Make Cute Wall Hanging

Kathy Jones AIt amazes me what people throw away!  Kathy Jones is a quilt friend that has given me lots of scraps that I have used in a few quilts. When we were at AWOL she was trimming up some blocks. The unuseable leftovers had rows of triangles sewed together. It asked her was she going to throw them away and she said yes and  I could have them. I took them back up to my sewing room and played with them. I decided to just lay them on  a piece of fabric, one row on top of the other and sew across the top of each row. It made like hanging flags orkathy Jones 1 flaps that moved. I sandwiched it and quilted my name and Pat’s name in the quilting. Pat did the binding and we gave it to Kathy. We both have gotten a thank you note from her. It was fun thinking about what to do with them and doing it for her. As  told her, not many people in this world have a quilt made by Jim Gatling and Patricia Eaton. It may be worth at least $1.00 in the future.Kathy Jones 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kathy Jone’s Unuseable Scraps Make Cute Wall Hanging

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Just darn cute! The red is perfect. Very creative on the border. I’m going to file your idea in the back of my brain and see if I can get that creative with scraps.

Leave a Reply

