The Red-Orange and Green Spring Quilt

AWOL, red and green quilt, snowan quilt, Pat's stuff 325I seem to start off a lot of posts by saying, “Someone gave me…” Well, they do.  This time someone gave me a Ziploc bag full of 10 different sizes of blocks in several color ways of a Fossil Fern fabrics. It must have been for a pieced block quilt and they either cut too many or never put it together. I don’t have a clue who gave it to e or what the block was supposed to be originally. I just stacked them n the width sizes and sewed the end to end. I ended up with three very long strips I like to call, Quilt by the Inch.  After getting the 3 strips I sewed them together to get a big sheet of fabric. It wasn’tR&G 1 pretty. I didn’t like it.  So, I decided to cut it into squares and laid it out on the tables in the studio.  I found  a green fabric that seemed to really go with all the other colors and the patterns. I cut the same size squares, put them all on point and alternated the colors. When I got it all where i could study it, it screamed flowers and fruit. I drew off 20 different original patterns and started picking colors that went with the Fossil Fern colors.R&G 2 It was hard to find enough  different fabrics that matched. When I started fusing the designs on I realized that it was gonna be an okay quilt.  I sewed all the blocks on the diagonal in rows, and then I did all the raw edges with a buttonhole stitch and did some thread painting on some blocks.I took it to AWOL and finished it last week. I found an orange for the border triangles and I pieced the with green and yellow. Is it bragging if IR&G3 say, I sure do like this one? It amazes me how I stretch my brain when I am designing these from other people’s scraps. It is always like a challenge. Someday I need to work on some of my original designs using my fabrics.R&G 4R&G 5

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Red-Orange and Green Spring Quilt

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Is it stealing if I use your ideas? LOL I like the random colored squares as much as the nine patch squares in the snowman quilt. You make it look so easy. Fruit and flowers couldn’t be more perfect. You must have spent some time doing the buttonhole stitch on ALL the raw edges! It’s beautiful! Time well spent.

  2. Cynthia says:

    Really Pretty!!

  3. C Self says:

    This is a lovely quilt! I am always amazed where you finish after you show us where you began.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I think it is important for my Blog friends to see how I start and how I create. The final projects seeme to work out, but i lke to see them in progress. Thanks!!!!

Leave a Reply

