Upside Down 9 Patch Scrap Snowman/Snowwoman Quilt

AWOL, red and green quilt, snowan quilt, Pat's stuff 222AWOL, red and green quilt, snowan quilt, Pat's stuff 219Gifting me fabric may kill me sometime.  I have this huge urge to make something out of the scraps and blocks people give me. I even lose sleep thinking about how I am going to use their gifts up. I was given a stack of weird, dark fabric, three blocks sewed together in strips.  I just grabbed them up one day and laid them out on the table and moved them around until  had 9-patches that each were different.blue snowman 1 They were dark and not pretty by themselves. I got some brighter blue fabric that looked really good with the ugly dark blocks and cut the all the same size. After i laid them out straight they didn’t do anything for me.  ut the on point and they began to sing. They began to sing “Frosty the Snowman.” So, there it was a snowman quilt in the making.  I had just finished the red and green fused flower quilt so why not do a fused snowman quilt. I drew off 9 snowmen and snowwomen each doing something different. They were a skier,blue snowman 2 kite flyer, weghtlifter, ballerina, bird feeder, juggler, hunter, clown, and skater. When I started picking fabrics I chose some of the same dark fabrics for the hats, scarves, and gloves. They blended into the background  stopped and rethunk it. Brights and lights with lots of white trees. I got everything drawn and took it all to AWOL  to cut all my fusedMarch 2014 B 012 pieces I did that there, but didn’t finish the machine embroidery I finished it at home last Wednesday night late I got u early to put the rows together and zipped right through it. Got it all done and I had sewed the middle row that was on an angle upside down.  I had to take it to my Group Group for show and tell screwed up. My brother said that’s what I get for not getting enough rest. I like this quilt to. I think it worked out great for having such a dull start. Oh, I have taken it apart. I will finish putting it back tonight.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upside Down 9 Patch Scrap Snowman/Snowwoman Quilt

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    I learn so much from your creative ideas! I love the way you incorporated the lighter fabrics in the snowmen to bring the quilt to life. Since I can’t draw I would have to do a set of machine embroidery blocks. Actually I would be more inclined to have a set of machine embroidery blocks that I need to assemble into a quilt. Some nine patch blocks in subtle colors would work for me to highlight the embroidered designs. I get too matchy- matchy and don’t get enough contrast. I think your example is teaching me something. LOL

    • Jim Gatling says:

      That’s why I post and blog and take pictures along the way. I think it is important for the viewer to see how and why I do what I do. After all I have been a teacher for 40 years. LOL!

Leave a Reply

