Insanity Blocks and Quilt Top – Part 2

 may 2013 063I finished my Insanity Quilt Blocks and got the into a top!!! I don’t know when I have been so thrilled over anything. I think it is new and a different block that will be used in many lectures and workshops. I love the name. Natalie named it way before I got a lot done. I have had numerous people want to know how to make them, and I will tell them in a class. It really takes a long time to figure out what to do and what to cut. Since I know so many people who are on meds or really need to be back on meds, I am naming it after them andInsanity blocks their psychotic behaviors, because sometimes I know some of us are crazy literally.  After the big blocks were made I decided to do smaller blocks for the corner stones. I used numerous color combinations and tried to do the wheels and the spirals different in color and design. I hope you like this. I plan to do a lot more of these!! Oh, It is now at Eddie’ being quilted. I’m so excited.insanity 3may 2013 078may 2013 080

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Insanity Blocks and Quilt Top – Part 2

  1. jacquie in OK says:

    Jim, I simply MUST learn how to do these blocks!

  2. Jim, You know I’ve seen the blocks for this quilt and thought them amazing, but had no idea the quilt would turn out to be so stunning. The colors are fantastic and when all sewn together, it reminds me of stained glass. Maybe I’m crazier than most of your friends. Enjoy many hours of teaching this! pat

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Stunning is a big word. I think different would be better. The next one I do I want it to have a 1960’s feel like psycodelic (sp) and not stained glass.

  3. Kathy Garringer says:

    I love these. I will pass this along to our program chair with QUILT. Kathy

  4. Charlotte says:

    Oh, Yes we need a class on this!! Wow, each quilt I see is better than the last!!

  5. Debbie Hedden says:

    I love these blocks!!! Please let me know when you will be teaching them!!!! Wherever it is!!!!

  6. Ethel Granger says:

    I LOVE IT! Can’t wait to meet you and your friend. Only one more month. Love the quilt “Insanity”. How creative! Ethel

  7. Dot Collins says:

    Jim, these are wonderful and I am hoping you will include some kind of instruction for them in the workshops you do for our guild in June. I cannot wait to see all the scrap quilts too! We will be excited to see you!! Dot Collins

Leave a Reply

