10 New Victorian Watercolors – Framed and Ready to Put in the Closet

violrt thumbOn my trip back to Texas in the winter, we was robbed. Remember, I had bought three, maybe four, really pretty, pretty, beautiful Victorian gold gilded frames that were stolen out of the van one night. They busted the back passenger window out and stole my frames and a metal box of old bills and papers. They didn’t get clothes, GPS, huge camera, books, and other things pileWatercolors 2 in the back of the van I was traveling in. Well, that’s a whole long story. But, my point in telling is  had to replace the frames to go with the watercolors I gotten at the big estate sale.  I collect old Victorian watercolors of women in costume. I have for years. Well, I bought my first one before I got divorced and that was over 25 years ago.  I have about six hanging up in my house and about 50 in boxes in the storage room. I do have shows andWatercolors 4 lend them out for special occasions. Well, these I got were in a folder/portfolio and had gotten wet when the swimming pool next door to the estate sale ran over. They were dried out and really weren’t hurt. There were seven women, a grape painting and a violet painting. Of course, I collect frames, too. So, I found some here and then went out and bought the rest that I thought would go with the paintings. I spent two days at the framers helping get mats cut, glass cleaned, putting them together and getting hangers.  Then, when I was at the Arkansas Antique Dealers Sale I found another one. So, here is an art showing of the new acquisitions.watercolors 3

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

