Fire Screen Refurbished – A Gift from Pat

AQG Oct. 2013 098Pat gave her maple wood fire screen several years ago. I had the same exact thing and got rid of it because I could never find anything to put in place of the cardboard sampler that was in it. I got Jeff to do some same painting and cut some wood to do some art projects on. He painted it and cut the wood piece to stretch a piece of needlepoint. When I was in Fort Worth at the estate sale I got a finished Victorian needlepoint chair piece that was the right size. I first got some batting scraps and put down two layers so the needlepoint would not be flat. Then I started stapling one size, did the opposite side, thenfire screen 1 the other two sides. I didn’t want to cut the needlepoint if I ever want to take it out. So, I sewed the edges across from each other on both sides. I found an old paper Kroger sack to cover the back. I cut it and glued it in place. I trimmed it with a exacto knife. For it to stretch tighter, I misted it with water and put it in front of a heater to dry.  I am very pleased with the outcome. A new antique for the living room.fire screen 2AQG Oct. 2013 098

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fire Screen Refurbished – A Gift from Pat

  1. Cathey Self says:

    It is beautiful—very elegant.

Leave a Reply

