I Ended Up with Five New Chairs by Mistake, Sorta

AQG Oct. 2013 042I have 5 new dining chairs. Remember, a couple of weeks back when I bought the  nine petit point purses from the estate sale in Oklahoma City? My dealer friend called me and asked me if there was anything else I wanted from the pictures on the website. I asked him, “I wonder what those 5 dining rooms chairs will go for.”  Well, on Friday he called and said, “The chairs are $1,200. do you want them?” We had a bad connection and he was going in and out. My response was, “No, don’t get them. I spent too much.” Well, onchairs 1 Saturday I get a call and he said, I put a bid on those chairs for you for half price. Isn’t that what you wanted? I really don’t remember what you said.” I didn’t know what to say, so I said, “It’s OK.”  His reply, was “You did want me to get them?”  I said again. “It’s OK.” I was right then the proud owner of 5 chairs I didn’t need or didn’t have room for. LOL!!! When he delivered them Sunday night he told be I had really gotten a great deal. TheChairs 2 chairs were English Regency, hand carved, brass inlaid, rosewood, from about 1820 to 1840 and signed: E. P. on the bottom.  One chair is an arm-chair and the cushion needs to be tightened.  One chair doesn’t have the needlepoint cushion on yet. The other three are in really great shape.  I am not sorry that I got them. I am sorry I don’t have a bigger house. AQG Oct. 2013 026

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Ended Up with Five New Chairs by Mistake, Sorta

  1. Cynthia Lyons says:

    They are beautiful!!

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    I would find room for those chairs.They are beautiful!! Perhaps you could part with other chairs you don’t like as well.

Leave a Reply

