Shopping the Stores in Downtown Morrilton, Arkansas

Nov. suff 022Two days this week I had time at noon to go to four of the flea market/antique shops in good old Downtown Morrilton, Arkansas. Since I don’t need anything, I wasn’t looking for anything in particular yesterday. Just browsing, killing time. I was thinking that I might find some Christmas ornaments that I collect for my four trees. And I did find one for the tree with all the wooden ornaments on it. I went to Debbie’s store and found a glass salad spoon, a chinaStuff Nov 1 angel from the 1950’s, a little sack of old glass buttons, a china sleigh-like vase with roses on it, a Limoges china plaque with a Victorian couple on it, and a medium-sized oak display cabinet. Today went to John’s store and he had 3 jars of buttons. I don’t need any buttons, and I sure don’t want to buy 3 jars that have only a few keepers. Then I would have to get rid of all the unwanted buttons. I already have gotten rid of 55 gallons of buttons. He let me justStuff Nov. 2 pour them out and go through them. I got a handful of okay buttons, an old flag pin, a brass thimble, and 2 old red dice. You never know what you’ll find in button jars. There was a boy scout thing, pins, needles, pennies, tokens, matchbooks, marbles and other stuff. You just never know. I have  frame that is full of things I got out of button jars that I made into buttons. Oh, I got a crystal cross for my prayer table at school. Next door I went in and was the only one in there for a long time. The nice woman was singing and humming along with the radio. She had a good voice. I found a silver 18″ diameter plateau for only $10.00 and a 12″ glass Christmas tree for $5.00. Both really great deals. Then I got 2 crystal buffet silverware holders silver salad tongs and a silver pie server. I really needed another pie server. I have over 50 now. LOL!  The cutest thing I got was a 21 piece wooden nativity set probably from the 1980’s. It was hand painted and glued to a piece of cork. Well, I popped all the figures off when I got back to school and scraped and sanded them to get the old hot glue off. Of course I didn’t need a thing but I got good bargains for just a little bit of cash. I like shopping in Downtown Morrilton.  Six minutes from home and 3 minutes from school.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping the Stores in Downtown Morrilton, Arkansas

  1. Sue Hankins says:

    Where are you going to put another cabinet ????

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I had glass shelves put in. I cut a piece of velvet mat board for the back and I used a stain/polish on t and it’s in the hall on the wall next the the front bedroom door. You’re welcome to come see it. Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

