Count Your Thanksgiving Blessings

Turkey pilgrimMy friend, Brenda Cahill, from here is always going to the flea markets and finding the neatest stuff. She has brought me jars of buttons for years. Wonderful buttons. Buttons of all shapes and sizes and materials. She has never let me pay for them and one day I asked her what I could do for her. She said she wanted something that I made. Last year someone gave me a Thanksgiving fused piece that was unfinished. I decided that I could finish it, thread paint it, and give it to Brenda. There were several things that needed to be done and I fix those place that had come undone and added things. I stitched around the edge of every piece and then thread painted it. It doesn’t have batting so I did not quilt it. But, I did go around each section with a decorative stitch. I am blessed in so any ways. Yes, count your blessing. I am blest to have Brenda as a friend. Happy Thanksgiving, Everyone!Turkeu 2Turkey pilgrim

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Count Your Thanksgiving Blessings

  1. Sue Hankins says:

    Jim , Brenda Cahill and I are old Pine Bluff friends. She is a hoot!! I know the two of you make a pair.😀😀😀 have you seen her friendship quilt?? Great memories !!! Ask her about her sewing at our craft club. You two have fun !! I miss being with her. We might get our old gang together and let you cook for us. What fun!!!!!! See you Sue

Leave a Reply

