Egg and Olive Sandwiches, Y’all?

Egg and Olive 010I was at sit and sew Sunday and asked had they ever had egg and olive sandwiches. Only one out of the six had ever had one. We had them growing up all the time, especially after Easter. After we hunted the real bold and dyed decorated eggs Mama would put the back into the frig and then shell them and make egg and olive. Some people call it egg salad, but we never did. Egg salad usually has a form of pickle relish. Egg and Olive only has 3 things: Boil eggseGG AND OLIVE chopped, green olives with pimento, chopped and real mayonnaise folded in. it is light and really tasty and is wonderful on bread, toast, crackers or used as a dip with Fritos. I told the girls I would fix the some for our sew night. I went to the grocery store yesterday and I had eggs, olives, mayo, 2 kinds of bread, and Fritos in my basket. My dear friend KathyEgg and Olive 009 Bryan said, “Your having egg and olive. I love them.” She had seen my Facebook post about it. I was so surprised at how many people had never had it. Dixie commented that she did the same thing and crumpled up bacon in her mix. Never heard that one. Sounded good though. Try it, you’ll love it.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Egg and Olive Sandwiches, Y’all?

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Since I don’t like pickles I make mine with bell pepper and onion. The olives sound delicious. I’m
    going try it.

  2. Susan Starr Biggs says:

    I just ate egg and olive on a tortilla….thanks for posting this…it’s awesome!

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Yes, it is awesome. I have made it 3 times since posting. I absolutely love it. I have it on toast, crackers, and Frito scoops. Now i’ll have to tr the tortillas. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

