Pin Wheel Quilt Top from a Charm Pack

Pin Wheel quilt 1I got a charm pack at the Quilt Congress in Fort Smith last year as a door prize.  I loved the colors and patterns and planned to make something out of it. It has music notes and a little bit of holly. But, it doesn’t scream, Christmas. I started cutting the squares into triangles and  sewed a few. When I was at Ferndale Lois helped me finish the blocks. I finally found the white fabric with a tiny black dot for the setting squares. Then I lost it in this mess. I looked for threePin wheel Quilt 2 days, gave up and started working on something else . Yesterday it showed up. It had fallen behind a stack of boxed fabric. I got all the blocks cut and laid out it out. It really took awhile to figure out how to cut the striped fabric so it looked like the center is sitting on the striped fabric. Yesterday I sewed the rows together and today  got the center done then the 3 border fabrics. As  say all the time: It takes longer to find/audition fabrics than to sewed the quilt up. That was the case with this quilt. I am blest to have so much fabric.Pin wheel quilt 3 The two printed border fabrics were in the studio, and the red-orange fabric was soe that was given to me by my friends in Tulsa. I like this quilt. It was fun to work on it and went together really well. I worked hard to finish it so I could go out for supper with Joan and Deanna. Got it finished and went outside and it was sleeting. Ran to the store for cigs and Diet Coke and back to blog. Guess I’ll start something else tonight. Stay warm!!Pin Wheel quilt 1

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pin Wheel Quilt Top from a Charm Pack

  1. Marylou Kosmeder says:

    Wow! Another wild joyous quilt from our quiltmaster! I don’t like it…I LOVE it. Hope you enjoy your Thanksgiving…love, mlu

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Thank you! it was fun to try and match the blocks. with the border fabric and not go out and buy anything.
      You have a wonderful thanksgivng! I’m just taking a dish to a friend’s. Mama and i are going out Wednesday nite to Conway.
      Blake and Cindy and kids in the duck/deer woods. Love, JIM

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Your creativity amazes me! I’m really jealous. 🙂

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Thank you, Wendy. It’s like a constant drive with me. I have to be dong something all the time. Today sitting in class I have 2 potholders and started burning a doll bed with designs. Love your coents! I feel like someone is readng my ramblings.

  3. Karen Price says:

    I love the pinwheel Quilt..I certainly understand your comment about auditioning the fabric. However, I consider the auditioning one of the most important steps for the final impact the quilt will have. Another really great result!!!!

  4. Karen Price says:

    i looked at this quilt again and loved it more the second time…It’s a keeper for sure!! If the jelly rolls are not used much in shows it is because they cost so darn much so most of the time I use my scraps. I have only one jelly roll top finished and one in progress.

Leave a Reply

