Toad’s Crossing and the Valley Rose

nov, 2013, chairs 022(I wrote this post once and lost it. If you see it twice don’t tell me.) Sunday was the Heart and Hands  sew day at the Conway library. I told Margaret I would drive and Dee Ett went with us.  I woke up Sunday morning thinking what was I going to do and I thought about going to Toad’s Crossing  Flea Market and seeing Robin and Kathy. I dropped them off and went to the flea market across from Wal-mart and found a couple of things, then on to see Kathytoads crossng and Robin. I gathered up several little things and a couple of Christmas presents. As I was checking out I had spotted a box of silver-plated flatware on the way in and it was staring at me. I went over to see how much it was and it was only $39.00. But, I didn’t want to send that on that. I sure didn’t need it. The box was solid mahogany and the pie server was really pierced and pretty. The pattern was a very pretty pattern with flowers on it. As I was fondling it, I mentioned it wasn’t a full set and that it needed 4 forks, 2 knives and 1 salad fork.  Kathy said if I wanted it, it was $20.00. Sold!!!!!!!!! The box and the pie servervalley Rose was worth that. When I got it home I polished it and it really turned out nice. I looked it up and the pattern was Valley Rose by W.A. Rogers/Oneida, 1956

. I went to Replacements on the net and found it. I basically got $469.43 worth for $20. plus the chest.  The pie server was pieced at $39.99.  What a deal. Well, Daddy always said it’s not a deal unless you need it. LOL! So, for only $70 more I can have a complete set for 8 plus the serving pieces. Still a deal, Daddy. I went back to the sew day and enjoyed the rest of the day with the gang.

Valley Rose  flatware from W.A. Rogers and Oneida 1956

Valley Rose flatware from W.A. Rogers and Oneida 1956

Collecting  wooden antique candlesticks.

Collecting wooden antique candlesticks.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toad’s Crossing and the Valley Rose

  1. VeeAnn says:

    WOW !!! Amazing! Happy for you! You really transformed that silver!

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Very pretty and a great deal.

  3. Karen Price says:

    What a great deal on the silver!! I have 4 sets myself because I couldn’t leave them orphaned. i have been working on finishing one of those little quilts that hung on the wire stands at the Claremore quilt show. I am excited about it!!!! Karen

Leave a Reply

