MHS Devil Dog Cookbook and Daddy’s Refrigerator Cookie Recipe

refrgerator cookies 004Crap! My oven went out. Bottom burner won’t heat up!  I was in the mood for a cookie. It was sleeting here, so I went to my trusty old Morrilton High School Devil Dog Cookbook that the art department put together years ago. It has all kinds of recipes. The idea of the book was for the kids to put in their mother’s and grandmother’s normal recipes. Recipes they wanted to pass down to their children. Each one is labeled who sent in the recipe and what their connection torefrgerator cookies 002 MHS was. When I was flipping through looking for Mama’s recipes I found Daddy’s recipe for Refrigerator Cookies. I had all the ingredients, so I started.  I know why Daddy made them. I started sweating working the huge bowl of dry with the 4 eggs and 4 sticks of soft butter.  I’m worn out! The recipe is like for a cookie like a sandy or a sugar cookie with pecans. Not too sweet. Good with fruit or ice cream or just coffee. I got everything done and it says to roll the dough into logs, wrap in wax paper, and refrigerate or freeze later. ItRefrigerator cookies made 6 big rolls! I can remember Daddy making them for his best friend Glen all my life. The neat thing is you just cut off what you want and cook only a few at a time. I got everything cleaned up and saved enough for 6 cookies. The last time I cooked I though something was wrong with the oven and it was.  The bottom burner never came on. So, I put  broiler and it burn them in a few minutes. So, I have 6 rolls of cookie dough in the freezer and not cookie to eat. Oh, Lucas TTWD liked them. I guess he didn’t care if they were black.refrgerator cookies 013

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MHS Devil Dog Cookbook and Daddy’s Refrigerator Cookie Recipe

  1. Kelley says:

    This ending of this made my day. Thanks for sharing and I hope you and your oven get on better terms…. and I would like a cookie…..Kelley

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I did get the oven on today. james came and worked on it. Getting a new element tomorrow. I di cook some tonight
      and they were great.
      Hope you are doing OK. Judy R keeps e up with you. Lov,e JIm

  2. rachel says:

    Hi Jim, maybe broiling is not the best idea for cookies. Could you try them in a non stick frying pan using the burners, you may need to flip them part way through.

Leave a Reply

