Decking the Halls – My Trees are Up

Christmas trees 015When you collect old Christmas ornaments it’s hard to display them. A couple of years ago I threw out my big green tree. About 5 years before that I got rid of my huge black tree. It seems to get harder and harder to get it all out, up, and down. I started getting little trees that I can just leave up decorated and just plop on tables when it’s Tis The Season. Each tree has a different type of ornament and I have found at Hobby Lobby some wire trees that hold a bunch of ornaments.  I like trees. Always have. I used to cut down a little cedar tree and put in my room, because I didn’t like the aluminum trees in the 1950’s at home. Now, of course I like them. This year I put several small trees on my sewing table in the studio. That’s the only place where I can put a tree so you can see it from the outside.  It has new small glass ornaments on it. I have a big mirror ball, a spot light and a revolving multi-color spot on it. Looks good from outside. In theTrees 1 breakfast room I have a silver tree with antique glass ornaments on it. In the corner of the living room I have a green tree with all wooden hand-painted ornaments  from the 1980’s and 90’s. They are the cheap ones from that time, but they don’t make them any more. Everything is plastic and glitter, and I don’t buy anything plastic or anything with glitter onTrees 2 it. The one in the sun room is full of new blown glass ornaments. The mminiature tree in the dining room is decorated with new and antique miniature ornaments. Then I have several small trees scattered throughout the house. I just like trees. I just like Christmas. Just wish after getting all this stuff out, someone would come see it. LOL!!!Trees 3Christmas trees 025Christmas trees 011

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decking the Halls – My Trees are Up

  1. Candace Berrry says:

    Wow! Really like the window display. I wish I still had some tabletop trees I gave away. You have inspired me to decorate.

  2. Marilyn Walderns says:

    Jim, what an amazing collection! They are beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

