Using Sue Ann’s and Keri’s Blocks in One Qult Top

Sue ann and Keri 016At the first of the week I found a box of quilt blocks in the studio that Jim and Liz gave me that were Sue Ann’s. They were cleaning out some of Sue Anne’s sewing stuff and they asked me if I wanted them. The blocks were log cabin designs and then there was another set of strips that, when put together, the corners made stars. I took off all of those star strips and just used the plain log cabin block. I twisted and turned them until I found the setting I wanted. When I was looking for more fabric to match I found a set of miniature Sun Bonnet Sue blocks thatSue Ann 1 my button club friend, Keri, had made and sold at the flea market.  They were a nice size, but they had too much white showing. I decided to cut them down and add scrappy corners on each of them. I cut them on-point to match the pattern  that Iwas putting together. I found enough fabric to set the quilt together. But it wasn’t big enough, so I added two more rows. That made it a nice size. I am thrilled at the outcome. I got to use up two sets of blocks into one quilt top. And I like the quilt.Sue Ann 2 SA3   Sue ann and Keri 002

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Using Sue Ann’s and Keri’s Blocks in One Qult Top

  1. Karen Price says:

    Another great creative triumph! Keep up the good work. I’ve been playing with Kaffe Fassett this weekend and also a 50’s baby quilt.

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when that creative spirit takes over and things just go together! I am amazed how you combined two completely different sets of blocks into a beautiful work of art. I’m really learning a lot from your creations. I really love your scrappy quilts. I like a lot of your collections too.

Leave a Reply

