Collecting Old Christmas Ornaments from the 1950’s and 60’s

Snow day and Christmnas collections 141I love the old ornaments from the 50’s and 60’s.  I hateSnow day and Christmnas collections 147 the new ugly, brightly colored glittered and plastic ornaments. Won’t buy them. The plastic looks so cheap now and the glitter falls off and they turn dark eventually. I love the ceramic, china, and blown glass ornaments and the old paper mache’ dime store ornaments. I do have a lot of the 1950’s plastic ornaments. They have such an old world charm to them. I have collected for years. When Mama moved here I got a lot of her old Christmas things I remembered as a kid. I have two display cases I keep this collection in all year-long down in the sun room.Snow day and Christmnas collections 133Snow day and Christmnas collections 134Snow day and Christmnas collections 135Snow day and Christmnas collections 136Snow day and Christmnas collections 141Snow day and Christmnas collections 148mas 2

These were on our mantle every Christmas until Mama moved here.

These were on our mantle every Christmas until Mama moved here.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Collecting Old Christmas Ornaments from the 1950’s and 60’s

  1. Dot Collins says:

    I have that same wizard of Oz set. I just love it thanks for sharing your

  2. Sue says:

    I collect anything that says Japan. I love their worn patina & sweet little faces!. I look everywhere, yard sales, thrift stores 365 days a year. They get gently washed & carefully repaired. They are enjoyed so much! I’m happy there are other like minded folks who enjoy rescuing these treasures & give them a Happy home proud to show ’em off!

Leave a Reply

