And the Stockings were Hung…

Snow day and Christmnas collections 071 - CopyWhen Mama moved here she gave all of us our stockings that hung on her mantel in Forrest City. She had Daddy’s original and her’s. She gave me mine, Blake’s Maggie’s and Will’s. They were the Bucilla felt and sequined kits that you bought at needlework shops. She made them all. When I worked at Greer’s I made a whole bunch, so we could decorate the mantle there. When I started having the family here I changed the names and added Craig’s family. One year at school we made stockings and I made Lucas’. Lots of memories connected to our Christmas stockings. Daddy loved firework and we always got a lot of the in our stockings. I wrapped for 3 stores for 25 years and I hate wrapping now. everything goes in one huge sack. I don’t put anything in the stockings now, because they are getting older and  want to keep them as nice as I can for the grandkids.stockings

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And the Stockings were Hung…

  1. Karen Price says:

    Jim, Tell me about the sampler screen in front of the fireplace. Karen

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Oh, I thought you were talking about the one on a stand. That is the other one I just got finished doing. This one below the stockings is a piece that I found at a needlework shop and I designed the border to fit in this old English oak fire screen. I have my name and date on the lower front.

Leave a Reply

