Blown Glass Birds – A Must for Every Tree

birs 3When Mama was a little girl my grandmother Tee Tee told her not to be plugging the lights on.  Tee Tee went to town and as soon as she left Mama plugged up the real tree and the whole thing fell down and broke almost all the ornaments and lights.  I’m  sure glad it was her instead of me! Well, the rest of the story you can imagine. It wasn’t a pretty one. From that tree Mama had two of the blown glass ornaments; a Santa and a peacock. They are over 80 years old now. She gave them to me years ago and they are under a glass dome in the dining room.  When I started collecting birds 1 ornaments I realized that everything hung down and that there would be big places that needed something where you could not hang an ornament, but you could put something on the top of the branch to add to the fullness. I started getting feathered birds to use. Then I started finding blown glass birds new and old. The old ones have like a grou of fishing line as the tail feathers. The new ones have dyed bird feathers for the tail. I really didn’t realize how many I have collected. I think I’ll buy a small tree to put them all on.birds 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blown Glass Birds – A Must for Every Tree

  1. DeeEtt says:

    HI Jim, I have enjoyed so very much looking at all your old Christmas’ past. Thank you for sharing. I have your napkins monogrammed, did them on Wed. I can bring them by school next week if you want, do you keep your car locked? I am ready for all the ice to leave and go bother someone else. DeeEtt

  2. Karen Price says:

    I love that collection…really ccooool. i think I just found a new category to collect!!!!

Leave a Reply

