Making Biscuits Using TeeTee’s Rolling Pin

leah quilt and biscuits 006I was in a hurry one day and bought 3 boxes of Jiffy Biscuit Mix instead of Jiffy Cornbread Mix. The boxes have been in my way for weeks now. I don’t eat biscuits. They are not on my diet. LOL! I decided today to get rid of them. Well, I decided to get the boxes out of the cabinet and make them up. I have more room in the freezer than in the pantry. I read the instructions andleah quilt and biscuits 002 thought, I could do this . Just add water and stir, blend, fold , flour, knead, roll, cut, bake. Oh, my goodness. That was work. I’d hate to have started from scratch.  I got flour all over me and the kitchen. It said roll out and I remembered I had my grandmother Tee Tee’s rolling-pin. It is just a cylinder of wood with no handles. As soon as I started roll it threw me back to her kitchen and how she made so many things. Tee Tee had a cook that lived on the place while Mama was leah quilt and biscuits 003growing up. When she got older, Mama wanted to learn how to cook ,so Tee Tee showed her. Tee Tee and Mama were always wonderful cooks. I guess the secret to cooking for boys & men is you cook what they like and they did. Well, I got them all made and in the oven. I had a little left over so  made some bites and put butter, sugar and cinnamon on them. They turned out great. Now I have to go cook something to go with them. Maybe some ham andleah quilt and biscuits 006 beans.leah quilt and biscuits 005

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

