Going to Pot 2

pot and Leah 011This past week when I was at school I had the urge to make more potholders again. Some of the last bunch I will be used as presents. I give some for the craft booth at the bazaar, and some I’ll keep as examples for the kids.  My eighth graders are making 10 to sell for their class dues. I like the idea that the kids make something and sell the instead of going to the parents and saying “Hand me $20 for class dues. I tried to do different weaves and different color combinations this time.  See Going to Pot 1: at:https://jimgatling.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/going-to-pot/  Oh, the first 10 people in the U.S. that read this and comment and send me their mailing address I will mail them one. Kinda like a little Merry Chrstmas from little old me. Yes, I am very nice.pot and Leah 010pot and Leah 009pot and Leah 008pot and Leah 012

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Going to Pot 2

  1. Karen Price says:

    Jim it is five o’clock am here in Idaho. It is at least 8 degrees below zero and we have snow on the ground. Winter is here and determined to make it’s mark. It is white for as far as I can see. I just love it!!!! I guess Idaho is the right place for me. Your potholders remind me that somewhere packed in my pile of stuff , I also have a small loom……and childhood memories. I used to make them for Christmas presents. The only thing that I am always on time with is Christmas. I love it so!!!!!!

  2. Eddie Landreth says:

    Love them, Jim! And you have my address, LOL!

  3. Margaret says:

    They are really nice, Jim. I think it is good that you have them make them instead of just paying dues. I hear lots of comments from my nieces and nephews who have made them. I have made several with my boys and nieces and nephews.

  4. Melinda Wright says:

    Love these!! I would love to buy some from your kids!!

  5. Nora Krein says:

    Jim, I like your values! Teaching children to cut their own grass to have a path to follow! Think most of us in this era made this when we were in grade school; kind of a walk down memory lane. We were proud of them as I’m sure your 8th graders will be even more so as you are teaching them an even greater lesson! No, I don’t still have any of these that I made as a child; think my Grandma and Mother used them until there were only loose threads left! It’s still cold in Northwest Arkansas – I’d love a potholder. PO Box 999 Gentry AR 72734 /Nora

    The Krein Team — Nora or Jim Nora Cell — (479) 957-7460 Jim Cell — (479) 549-8327

  6. Becky Wilson says:

    P.o box 2332
    Jonesboro, Ar 72402

  7. Mary Parsons says:

    Am I too late to get a potholder made by my friend Jim? Mary

  8. Megan says:

    These Pot Holders are so adorable!

  9. Cathey Self says:

    Those are fun. I have not made them since I was just a little girl. I wonder what happened to the little metal loom we used.

  10. Cathey Self says:

    Jim, I am sending my address in case you decide to send me one of your adorable potholders. I did not want to post it with my comment and am unsure about what is the obvious way to send the address.

    Cathey Self 8508 Yorkshire Dr Orange, TX 77632

    I enjoyed your lecture and class with the Golden Triangle Quilt Guild in Beaumont. Thanks for coming and for putting our quilt top together! Cathey

  11. Love the pot holders, I see them at estate sales sometimes…sometimes they are well loved. Love them~~

Leave a Reply

