Leah’s Scraps, Cut Pieces, and Blocks Made into a Quilt Top

Leah TMy good quilt friend, Leah, gave me four sacks of scraps, cut pieces, tons of triangles of different sizes and a big pieced star and four small applique blocks. I was shocked over the blocks. I thought of a million ways to make a small quilt with them. But, One man’s trash…When you have so much given, my goal is to use as much of it as possible. I had started working on some pieced star blocksleah 1 and even cut the corner stones and the sashings during the first day of ice and snow. I even got the bordered pieced and just didn’t like it. So, I put it all away and pulled out Leah’s blocks. I had already used up her tiny triangles by making and one and 3/4th” blocks and sewing the all into a long row. it ended up being several yards of pieced triangles. I finally found some background fabric that would go with all the colors in that bunch of fabrics fromleah 2 my Tulsa friends. It was a matter of trying to figure out how to get it all together with the fabric on hand. The last 4 cuts were about and 1/8″ off But I made it work.  Candy asked me what I was working on during the snow and ice and this was it. You like it? I think it’s pretty. I want to put some more borders on it, but school starts back today and I had to clean the studio up for the upcoming week. So, here is my Leah Leftovers Quilt.Leah 3Leah T

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Leah’s Scraps, Cut Pieces, and Blocks Made into a Quilt Top

  1. Karen Price says:

    It’s very obvious that the scraps went to the right place. You did a great job again!!!!!!!!

  2. Eddie Landreth says:

    Leah will be proud of what you did with those scraps. Excellent!

  3. Nora Krein says:

    You truly amaze me how you use up scraps and turn them into beauty! And you do it so fast!! I had to organize, sort, toss in my home office before sewing; job completed! Now, I’m organizing my sewing room; you know how it gets when you are making purchases and tossing in the sewing room; then you have to get a job completed NOW and then other demands keep you from putting away from that sew on demand, and then another one arrives! Well, you can see that pretty soon it has to be time out for the sewing room and get it in order before you allow yourself to sew. That is where I am, but it’s with a real determination to get this accomplished soon so I can get back to creating. I started in the walk-in closet. Made room for another 5-drawer storage bin; yes, last evening at 8:30 I took to the icy roads for a trip to Wal-Mart to purchase that storage bin! It’s really going to be a great asset to the organization of the sewing room. It’s the second one in the closet; and I have three in the sewing room. Today, I want to order some plate glass to put on top of the three storage units in the sewing room so the top can be used for display – never enough room for that. About two weeks ago, I had a small decorative shelf unit that I was going to donate to our guild “store” – then I had a great idea: hang that in the sewing room for display! Wow, it looks so good with pin cushions and sewing notions on it!!

    The Krein Team — Nora or Jim Nora Cell — (479) 957-7460 Jim Cell — (479) 549-8327

  4. Love it!! She will too!!

  5. Candy Berry says:

    Wow! You really have a good eye for putting those orphan blocks together….Love it!

  6. Wendy Drew says:

    Amazing how you make it all work perfectly together. I enjoy learning from your artistic talent.

Leave a Reply

