Little Rachel All Growed Up – One of My Favorite All Time Students

Rachel all growed up.

Rachel all growed up.

Rachel is the same age as my son Blake. They grew up together. They were in the MHS Class of 1994. Not only did I have her in art class, in the drama department, and  chaperoned the drill team their senior year, she went to the First Presbyterian Church, so I saw her most everyday for years. On the weekends their senior year the boys would spend the night here Saturday night, and then the girls would stay the next Saturday. They did it most of the school year. I even chaperoned her and her 4 best friends to Florida on their senior trip. (But, that’s a whole other story.) That was my favorite class ever and she is one of my favorite people, student, and now friend. She’s just one of these people who jump into your heart and stay there. She’s one of the very few people who call me Jimmy. The other day I saw on Pinterest where she had pinned several pictures of my woven

MJHS Drillteam

MJHS Drillteam

potholders. Then she posted on Facebook about having a creative urge and she needed to start making something. Mama was going to Conway and I asked her to pick up a potholder loom and a couple of bags of loops. I got a box from the post office and drew Christmas pictures on it and mailed it to her parents from “Santa.” She called and the day Mama got the stuff and told me she was going to be in town to get her hair done and could we meet for supper. It was so funny that we were both thinking about each other. We met

Rachel and friends on their senior trip to Florida.

Rachel and friends on their senior trip to Florida.

at Colton’s a couple of days later to catch up. One of the first things she asked was did I mail her a package. I told her I didn’t in my serious, lying, straight face. Well, she got the package from her parents and opened it up, and made a potholder. She called the next night to say she recognized the handwriting and thanks, and she was so excited. She had gone to several stores looking for the supplies, but couldn’t find any. She even had searched on the net.  We talked a long time about potholders and kids, and hubby, and her going back to school to be a nurse practitioner. She s one of the most delightful people in the world. And she’s my friend. Love you, Rachel. Just call me when you get your hair done again here.

Prom

Prom

Rachel geting married.

Rachel geting married.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Rachel All Growed Up – One of My Favorite All Time Students

  1. Rachel says:

    Jimmy!!! You are so sweet! Love you to pieces! Will call you soon! XOXO
    -Rachel

Leave a Reply

