What to Do with Old Game Boards and Game Pieces? – Make Art

snowflakes, 16 patch quilt top 041 I am an artist and things need frames. I have bought several BIG frames lately for little of nothing. I gave one to Anna Grace for her room and I had Jeff cut me thin plyboards for 3 others to do something with. I had an idea. I have been collecting game boards and game pieces from  yard sales and flea markets for about 2 years. I don’t spend much on the old things. I just put them back until  I have enough to create something. Well, I got it in my mind that I wanted to makecarol game 1 something for Carol for Christmas. I did.  I started laying out the boards to see if I could cover the whole background in an artistic manner. I hot glued them to the plyboard and used my exercise weights to make the lay flat. Boards are usually cardboard and seem to warp in moisture. Then I started adding the big stuff like Bingo cards and Monopoly money, and went from there. One thing about the game pieces, there are all shapes colorsCarol Game 2 and designs, and they all look good together.  I used Scrabble pieces and wrote out “Jackson” and “Addie,” her two children, and her mother gave me a deck of old Razorback cards to represent Arkansas, her home state. I texted Addie to see if she thought she might like it. There is a problem in giving somebody something huge, and bold, and quacky. They might not like it, might not have a place for it, or it just doesn’t work in their house. ICarol gAME 3 know. I have seen it over and over through the years. I have the perfect example that I can’t tell you about that happened to me this year. Well, Carol and Ken got in late last night from Virginia. Horrible weather, horrible traffic, construction, they went through it all. I already took it to her mom’s. Well, today when she sees it, I hope it brings a smile to Carol.  Merry Christmas, Carol.  Love you!!!!snowflakes, 16 patch quilt top 041

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What to Do with Old Game Boards and Game Pieces? – Make Art

  1. Sara Goodall says:

    I love this, and I am sure Carol does too!! You rock, Jimbo!!!

  2. Debbie Zimmerman says:

    I love this! May have to make one of my own!

Leave a Reply

