Southern Thank You Notes – A Must!!!!!!!!

BlessI was raised where on Christmas Day Mama would set us down and we would write thank you notes to our grandparents that lived next door for the gifts we got on Christmas Eve. She wanted to mail them so TeeTee and PawPaw would get them in a timely manner. I try, Lord God almighty I truly try, but sometimes it just doesn’t get done. I still haven’t mailed all my Christmas cards yet. So, for any of you that might be greatly offended that you haven’t received your thank you note from me for the present you gave me 2 days ago, just fill in the blanks:

Dear _______________________(Add Your Name), Bless your heart! I want to____________ (pick one: greatly, sincerely, truly) thank you so much for the _____________________ (pick one: wonderful, fantastic, beautiful,) (Now list the item, items, you gave me here:) *_______________________________________. (*be sure and add commas in between items.) Oh, my goodness! It was so _________________________ (Pick one: thoughtful, ingenious, kind, brilliant) of you to remember me in such a ______________ (Pick one: generous, loving, phenomenal,  fantastic, Note:  If you used the word “fantastic’ above, it is not good etiquette in writing to use the same adjective again.) way. I am so_________________________(Pick one: excited, stunned, blest, loved) and can not wait to ______________________________ (Pick one: show off, wear, eat, read, use) the________________________(State the color of the item and the pattern. Example: “Red Plaid”) ________________________(Name of gift) you so __________________ (Pick one: lovingly, affectionately, unselfishly,)  gave me. Your generosity ________________________ (Pick one: is amazing, astounding, over-whelming.) I will____________________(Pick one: treasure, wear with pride, love) this forever. You are the best______________________(Pick one: gift giver, friend, or give relative connection like: son, Mom, etc.) EVER!!!! I will always remember this __________ (Pick one: gift, present, check) and I will never forget  this ________________ (Pick one: Christmas, holiday, year). Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! With_____________________(Pick one: tears, joy, elation) I  truly sincerely thank you. __________,(Pick one: With all my love, Affectionately yours, Kindest regards, Jim Gatling.

Example: My brother gave me a flat screen TV for Christmas:

Dear Lance and Atsuko, Bless your heart! I want to sincerely thank you so much for the fantastic  TV. Oh, my goodness! It was so thoughtful of you to remember me in such a generous way. I am so stunned and can not wait to use the black flat screen TV you so lovingly gave me. Your generosity is over-whelming. I will treasure this forever. You are the best brother and sister- in- law EVER!!!! I will always remember this  present, and I will never forget  this Christmas. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! With, joy I  truly sincerely thank you. With all my love, Jim Gatling.

***You have my personal permission to copy and paste this to all your gift-giving family & friends an send it electronically. Bless your heart!***

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

