A Royal Evening with the Queens.

Santa Apron Glenda's birthday 074When we moved to Morrilton in 1974 I was young and stupid. Now I am just old and stupid. We looked at places to rent or buy. I hadn’t even gotten my first paycheck and we looked at new houses. To make a long story short we bought a new house on Griffin Street behind Horace and Anne Crofoot’s house on Childers street. We went to the bank and got a signature loan. My mother-in-law was supposed to co-sign it.  But, she never did. When we paid it off the banker laughed and said, now that wouldn’t happen today! To give an unsecured loan to 20 year olds, that one was in college and the other just started teaching. No way! I started teaching with Anne at MHS. SheSanta Apron Glenda's birthday 075 was the high school English teacher and he owed a photography business. Their son John was young. Their back door faced our side door. They put up a chain link fence and put a gate in so we could go back and forth. We were friends for years. John grew up and went to college in New York. Horace died several years ago and Anne started working at the Headlight newspaper with me. We have always been close. When she married Ben Queen she told me that I wasn’t invited to the wedding. I was just a family thing, but I kept on asking. I got their family group picture and photoshopped me in the background and gave it to them for a wedding present. It now is on their piano. See, ISanta Apron Glenda's birthday 076 attended. Now, John is a writer and researcher in Turkey. Now, that’s not Turkey Pond Loop, Arkansas, but the country of Turkey over there somewhere around the other side of the world. He was home for the holidays and Anne and Ben invited me and Meredith Jones over to have supper with them and to visit and catch up with John. I see a lot of his pictures on Facebook. He has an interesting life. Such a wonderful evening with great food, wonderful conversation, and fantastic friends. Merry Christmas! Love you all!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Royal Evening with the Queens.

  1. Kathy Garringer says:

    I love the Photo Shopping!!!!! I’ll have to remember that when I want to attend and can’t. Question: I am going to start a blog and have been looking at blogs I follow and what platform they use. Are you happy with yours and why did you choose it? Kathy

Leave a Reply

