I Had a Day to Kill So I Went Flea Marketing

Ashley's wedding and flea market finds 041 - CopyFriday, I followed Mama in my car on the old highway to Forrest City through Wynne. She went on to the bridesmaid’s luncheon for her granddaughter Ashley, and I went to 6 flea markets and antique stores.   I really didn’t find anything exciting, but what I found was cheap. (I mean inexpensive.) I really didn’t need anything I got, but you collect what you collect.  I found a solid oak doll rocker that I think I am going to pull the seat slats off and let my brotherFleas Craig weave the seat. He is redoing 8 chairs that were in his wife’s family for his daughter. I got a  primitive pincushion chair and thread holder to redo. I found a small Pyrex bowl with a lid. I had one that I melt butter in all the time and I broke it. I have been looking for one. I got a  reamer for a friend. A small china watering can figurine and a dog pulling a cart ceramic figure to make a pin cushion out of. I got a football gold charm from a friend, a china pig and basket pin cushion, 2 petit point sashays and a Victorian fold out card. I got a hand-painted box with a cherub for a friend and 2 silver trays and a hot pad. I sure didn’t need the trays but they were soooooooooooo cheap (I mean inexpensive) I had to buy them. The big one is big. On the way out-of-town I stopped by Rhonda’s store and she was having a yard sale outside. She let me have an oriental  jewelry box. Thanks, Rhonda. And Mr. Rainey at  Rainey Glass fixed a silver-plated casserole holder with a mirror to use as a tray.  I had a good weekend. Any weekend you get junk you have a good weekend. LOL!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Had a Day to Kill So I Went Flea Marketing

  1. I love the painted box! Perfect for Valentine’s Day!

  2. Jean Adler says:

    Jim,
    I have enjoyed reading your blog for a while now. You probably don’t remember me, but I met you years ago at Ferndale and I was a member of the AQG for a time. Linda Tiano is still a good friend of mine.
    I’d like to know what you use to clean up all the badly tarnished silver that you find. One of the men that I work with just gave me some pieces from his uncle’s estate in Hope, Ark. They are pretty black but I don’t think they’re beyond saving. Any advice you can offer I’d be grateful for.
    Thanks,
    Jean Adler
    Longview, TX

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Hey, Jean, Yes, I remember you. But don’t ask me to pick you out of a crowd though. LOL! If the silver plate is still on the item it can be polished. I use Wright’s silver cream. I get it at Wal-Mart in the cleaning section. It comes with a round soft sponge inside. I but I also buy 100% white flat not fuzzy dish towels like diapers to help rub and dry. It takes lots of rubbing and repeated rubbing with the cream, hot soap water when you wash off and soft drying towels. JIM

      • Jean Adler says:

        Jim,
        Thanks for your prompt reply! I had some Wright’s and you’re right, it does work the best. I had read about using aluminum foil, baking soda and boiling water, so I tried it on the small creamer. Doesn’t work. Elbow grease and patience are the right combination.
        I can see why you have such fun restoring all the pieces you find. It is fun to see them sparkle when you get them cleaned up. I’m afraid these pieces have been mistreated but still think they’re worth the effort.
        I still can’t figure out why he gave them to me. I work in the oilfield service business. I am the “DOT lady”. I keep up w/ the driver’s, their logs and the rules they have to keep. The guy who gave them to me is one of the drivers. I’ve been pretty hard on him, because he makes too many errors. Maybe he’s trying to get on my good side? 🙂

        Thanks for your help!
        Jean

Leave a Reply

