Peter’s Happy Birthday Navy Blue Apron

photoSaturday was Pete Giovannini’s birthday. pete jan. 2014 044I texted Liz and asked what was for supper and she reminded me it was Pete’s birthday and she’d get back to me. She had told me when I made her an apron a few weeks back that Pete really needed one to cook/grill outside in. Well, not having a thing to do today I set down and whipped him one up and 2 pot holders.  I found some heavy navy blue kettle cloth. It was over 2 yardsapron 1 so I knew I could do something with it. Since I didn’t have a pattern I laid out the fabric and sorta measured me to see if it would fit. I started whacking away and trimming and measuring and trying until I thought it would do. I double rolled the hem and the ties so there wouldn’t be any frayed edges, and tried to make it kinda descent. But, after all he’s just gonna get grease on it. I had so much fabric left I made 2 twelve-inch pot holders to match. When it was done, the fabric and sizing  and so I washed it in hot water to get it all out. I dried it and it came out of the dryer softer and smelled real good. Oh, I had some of the plaid fabric left over from Liz’s apron and I made her two dish towels to match. Happy Birthday, Peter! Just call me the next time you grill out.apron 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

