A Total Stranger Called and Invited Me to Their House

A friend gave a total stranger my name and invited me to come to her house. She had obtained a huge amount of silver serving pieces that she could not use. She went through it all and kept what she could  liked and the rest was in her way. I drove over about 20 minutes away and finally found it with 3 cell phone calls. She thought I was coming from Little Rock. No, I was coming from Morrilton. So, every time she said go left I was going right.  LOL! Got there and it was a gorgeous home on top of a hill looking over the river. Really pretty. After we talked we had mutual friends. We had a wonderful visit. Seems she inheritedsilver 1 from a friend a ton of very old and pretty things. Way too much for her. But, I was interested and finally said what you take for all of the silver pieces.  It was 42 pieces and in really good shape. Really good shape mean that there were no big scratches or pits. It does need cleaning. But, basically pretty good stuff. I paid her and came home. It was 16 small silver plated dessert plates, fruit bowls, compotes, cups, all sizes of trays, vases, andsilver 2 appointments. A very nice selection. Of course I didn’t need any of it, but it was a good assortment to add to what I have collected. The best piece was a 3-branch sterling silver candelabra. I think it matches Mama’s. It looked that old. I basically paid $2.38 a piece. Great find.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

