Envelope Art to Mail a Special Letter

envelope artI have done “Envelope Art” for years. Pat and Sherry have been the recipient of more than any other people I guess. I just doodle on the envelopes in colored pencil or in ink It’s just another way to express myself, and gives me something to kill time. Last week I had a letter I needed to get to Pat, so I drew on the envelope and on the letter inside. Nothing fancy. Just trying to spread some cheer. I heard from Pat after she opened the letter. I think she was very pleased that I took the time to alter the envelope artistically for her. She said she would keep it forever. Pat, it’s not the Mona Lisa. You may use it for kindling when you get cold.envelope

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Envelope Art to Mail a Special Letter

  1. Pat eaton says:

    Mr. G, I like the “keep it forever” idea. Being a sentimentalist at heart. Certainly is fun to go to the mailbox and find a piece of your envelope art in it. Thanks again!!! Pat

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Very nice. Cheerful. I’m sure Pat was happy to get it. Looks like it took a little time. Why don’t you print them and sell them? Gatling originals. Yea, nice

  3. Kathy Garringer says:

    You and Charles Russell!! He’s one of my favs. We used to take our boys to the Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa. We called it the Boy Museum! They have a lot of his illustrated letters. Maybe yours will be in a museum someday!

Leave a Reply

