Roy Dudley’s Sale Last Weekend – Neat Finds

Roy dudley 012Last weekend Deanna and I went to Roy Dudley’s Estate Sales on Sunday afternoon. They are always such good sales with great and unusual things. Everyone is so nice and they are helpful and answer questions. I saw lots of things I’d like to have, but only bought a few things. I always stay within my budget. I got a big oval cut glass fruit bowl. It was old and had a couple of chips on it. But, in my warped way ofstand thinking, I am old and have a couple of chips, too. When it’s cheap and you don’t have a lot of money in it, you can use it and enjoy and not worry about it. I got a clear paperweight and a weird little china thing that was shaped like stacked eggs with raised flowers. Just different. I, also, found 2 hand-painted china salts with 3-legs. I picked up an oatmeal saucer. I had chipped one of mine. I debated on a stand for about an hour and decided to go ahead and get it. It was dark mahagoney, two-drawered, and had a place at the bottom and top to put something. When I got home I wrote a friend and he said it was a Victorian water pitcher stand that people used as plant stands now. Well, I looked it up on the net and it said: Indoor Victorian Plant Stand with Drawers, $215.00. Victorian Barley Plant Stand – Beautiful plants deserve to be beautifully displayed. This Reproduction Victorian plant stand with drawers presents your interior flora with taste and elegance. The captivating three-legged Victorian plant stand features hand-carved twisting columns, lending a sculptural quality to this fine piece of antique reproduction furniture. Also features two triangular drawers adding versatility to this already sophisticated centerpiece. Y’all didn’t know I was sophisticated, did y’all? LOL! The stand is now in my breakfast room with a silver water pitcher on it. I think I got a real bargain.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roy Dudley’s Sale Last Weekend – Neat Finds

  1. Kathy Garringer says:

    The stacked eggs would make a cool pincushion!

Leave a Reply

