Leah’s Scraps and the Water Lily Quilt

thumb water lilyTwo weekends ago Natalie and I went to Otter Creek to sew day Leah called on the way and asked us to come by her house. She wasn’t going and had some stuff for me. I love Leah’s scraps. She buys the fabrics I don’t so when I get them I have all kinds of ideas. Well, we ended with a trunk load of stuff. We sewed and I came home and threw it all in the studio. I unpacked and thenwater lily 1 went through all of it. I found a set of jelly roll leftovers in blues and greens. Now I have to back up. Nola was making a jelly roll quilt at sit and sew. When she finished it we were all looking at it and we thought it needed something. I said water lilies. She said a penguin. Everyone has a different opinion or suggestion. Well, when I saw these strips I thought of Nola. So, I cut them up in different lengths and sewed them all together in one strip. Likewater lily 2 my original idea: “Quilt by the Inch.” LOL! I kept putting the ends together and just kept sewing until I got it a workable size.   I did fused water lilies and cat tails and did some thread paining on them. The I got a pink and a blue and pieced the border. Dark blue for the last border and it was finished. All was Leah’s fabric scraps. Oh, it only took me 2 days. Reminds me of a unsophistocated primitive Monet painting. My kind of junk.water lily 3Leah's scrap quilt 021Leah's scrap quilt 028

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Leah’s Scraps and the Water Lily Quilt

  1. Kathy Garringer says:

    Really, really beautiful!

  2. Patricia Eaton says:

    It’s a nice one! You’re doing good!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Brenda Wall says:

    Beautiful, but I do like the idea of a penguin. LOL

  4. I really love this one! Be sure to get it quilted and enter it in a show. It has Monet written all over it or better yet give it to me!!!!! I have a companion needle work piece in progress. You did good!!!Karen

  5. Wendy Drew says:

    Just beautiful! I want to try that background technique with my scraps but I haven’t a clue what I would put on the top of it. Guess I will have to see what strikes my fancy if and when I ever get that far. Hmmmmm maybe cats for my quilt.

  6. Cathey Self says:

    I love it! The colors are lovely and the water lilies and cat tails are a great addition.

Leave a Reply

