A Gift of Fabric Turns Into “Leah’s Folk Art Quilt”

Taxes, yard, leah's quilt 039My dear friend, Leah Sample, called me on the way to Otter Creek for sew day and asked me to drop by the house to pick up some fabric she was getting rid of. She was cleaning out her studio. Natalie and I stopped and I ended up with a trunk load of stuff. Wonderful stuff. I came home that weekend and had the Water Lilies/Monet-looking quilt done on Sunday. I posted it two Leah's pri. 1 weeks ago. Well, she gave me 2 sets of Moda triangles. Weird colors with a sorta yellowy-creamy combo with darks. Geannine recognized the fabric immediately, but of course, I didn’t. They weren’t in my palette. Well, I put the triangles together and ended up with a medium lap quilt size. I don’t like small, so I thought of what could I do. I was teaching a unit on American Folk Art at school and decided I needed to practice for another quilt ILeah's prim. 2 have designed that I want to do soon. I really need to get away from the fabrics that people give me and work own my designs. But, you know I love the challenges that new donated/gifted fabric brings. I designed the borders and tried to match as good as  could the types and designs and the colors that were in the triangle. I used given fabric for the two borders. Oh, I did run out of my YLI variegated brown, beige, white thread. I had 3 partial spools and  ran out. After calling 2 friends I found something similar and finished it up. It took less than 2 weeks to design each pattern, cut, fuse, and machine applique. I finished up today at 1:00. Loved working on it and practicing for my next endeavor. What cy’all  think???? Leave a commet, please. I’d really like to know what you really think about it.  Thanks!!!!!!!leah 4Leah 5leah 6Taxes, yard, leah's quilt 049Taxes, yard, leah's quilt 050

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Gift of Fabric Turns Into “Leah’s Folk Art Quilt”

  1. Marjorie Marcille says:

    I love it! It is a happy quilt! It looks very American Folk Art – a good illustration for your students!

  2. Marilyn says:

    Jim I really like the Folk Art borders. You don’t seem to appreciate your own art. I would love to sit down and draw, cut and fuse; however, I can’t get to the “draw” part of that equation. The border looks good with the half-square triangles. Good job.

  3. Kathy Garringer says:

    It’s really wonderful. You ought to print up those folk art patterns and sell the pattern.

  4. Debbie Hedden says:

    Love the quilt. The folk art is wonderful.

  5. Lauren says:

    I really like the folk art borders on the blue background. They make the quilt special instead of “just another lap quilt.”

  6. james hill says:

    I WOULD LIKE TO SEND PICS OF MY QUILTS JAMES Date: Sun, 16 Feb 2014 21:12:55 +0000 To: jhill95@hotmail.com

  7. Wendy Drew says:

    Very nice! The border is perfect! This must have taken some time.

  8. Leah says:

    Nice!! Glad my fabs receive such attention!!!

  9. Beth Corley says:

    I really like it! I like the colors that you chose. Folk art is fun to create and look at!

  10. Marty says:

    I saw it in person and it is really wonderful, so much detail!

  11. Becky Wilson says:

    Jim I think that quilt is great. I am amazed by your talent and imagination.

  12. Dot Collins says:

    Love this quilt, especially the border – it makes it extraordinary and unique, one of a kind creation!

  13. Betty Cell says:

    Hi Jim, Very impressive! I like the fact that the geometric piecing and applique are reversed from the more common way of setting the elements.

Leave a Reply

