Antiquing in Clarksville – I Found Some Goodies

antiques 015 A friend called yesterday and wanted to know if I wanted to go to with him to an estate sale in Clarksville today. Well, Duuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Is the sky blue?  Of course I said I would love to go. It’s about 50 miles away. We left about 8:00 and found it real easy. It was a big Victorian home with carved doors with stained glass, tall ceilings, and lots of rooms full of lots of things. This was the second day of the sale. Everything was 15 % off, but even with that everything was very expensive. The reason there were still lots of things everywhere was because FM 1even at 25% off on Sunday, things are still gonna be high. Lucky for me, I didn’t see anything that I would take home inside. They had emptied the 2 garages outside and I found a smoking stand for $5, a frame for $5, and a silver tray for $5. The silver was off the tray. But, the design was raised grapes. It was from the early 1900’s and had been marked $35, but now $5. I can get a plate mirror cut for the inside bottom and I can sprayWatercolor tennis Victorian grl paint it or even have it resilvered. The smoking stand was solid walnut and even had the original yellow glass ashtray. I’ll make a sewing stand out of it. The frame was just a real neat pattern and I liked the size. I’ll dry brush that gold. After that we went to a big antique store that was really full and had good prices. I found a set of crystal salt and pepper shakers with glass lIds, a Petit point hanky, a glass etched ladle with a flower on the bowl, and a clear condiment jar with lid for $1.00.  On the way out-of-town we stopped at two flea markets and I found an American cut glass nappy for $5.00 and a china painted salt shaker. I guess the best find was a Victorian watercolor of a girl playing tennis. The frame is trash, but I can put it in another frame here. Not bad for a morning away from Mo-Town.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

