Leah’s Leftovers – Making Pretties Out of Nothings

leah's tea cu mat 006Remember when Leah cleaned out her studio and gave me another car trunk full of fabric, scraps, and quilting practice samples? Well, I looked at 2 big pieces of quilting samples she had done while practicing on her long-arm machine. They intrigued me. Now what can you do with meandering quilting of different kinds on muslin?  Well, I decided to make her  a table runner and a tea-cup mat. She had given me some binding rolled on a cardboard and I thought let’s just use what’s in that pile and use the red variegated binding.Lea tea I cut the piece, bound it, then appliqued it. Sorta bass-ackwards from the norm. Normally you’d applique, quilt, then bind.  On my way to Kennett, MO yesterday I did the hand stitching on the binding and I just did the appliques today. Fun quick projects. Hope she’ll like them.leah's tea cu mat 008

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leah’s Leftovers – Making Pretties Out of Nothings

  1. Leah Sample says:

    You are so sweet!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Awwwww so cute!

  3. Margaret Miller says:

    Really cute, Jim!  I’m sure she will love them!

  4. Jo Day says:

    Of course she will love them, they’re sooo cute!

Leave a Reply

