Undoing So That I Can Redo – Hell on Earth

amaryliss, redo rooms, natalie's jacket 033 (2)When you live some place for over 25 years you have to spruce up a little or move. (I should have moved.)  I have been wanting to paint and clean everything for a long time. But, if you have ever been in my house you know it would be almost impossible to do that without major planning. So, see if you can keep up. To paint the back bedroom and bathroom I had to move everything out of both rooms. First problem: I have no place toroom move it to. So, I decided that if I could move everything EXCEPT the big furniture it could be done. So, everything in the back bedroom went across the hall into the guest bedroom. Everything in the back bathroom went to the hall bathroom. Now before you can paint you have to get old wallpaper off. In some cases 3 layers of old wallpaper. So, you have to hire an experienced wallpaper un-doer. Now to get wallpaper off you have to wet the paper andrdo 2 score the paper and wet the paper and score the paper 600,000 times. Pull and scrape pull and scrape 600,000 times. But, first you have to put old towels and old sheets down to catch the water and the wet wallpaper shards. Talk about a mess……… Okay when you get those two rooms undone, you go to the hall bathroom. But, first you have to take everything out of the bathroom which now includes the stuff from the back bathroom. So, you put it all on the dining room table. The wallpaper un-doer does that room. Talk about a mess. Unbelievable amounts of wet  shards of wallpaper everywhere. Now the painter, which really is a construction worker, has to patch holes and fix torn sheet rock, mud, sand, and unscrew light fixtures and take off unwanted crap, etc. , etc., etc. Before he can paint he has to prime and kill whatever. While one is doing, the other is undoing. OMG! This has really been something. Now all the stuff in the hall is in the way, so I move it to the entry hall. The next day I have to move everything in the entry hall into the dining room, because the un-doer is ready to undo the entry hall. OMG. Will the madness ever stop! If anybody calls “Hoarders” I’m slitting both wrists with her wallpaper undoing knife! So we are getting really close to doing the washroom. The washroom has that huge cabinet full of silver and the collection of white oak baskets. I have to put as much of the silver into the baskets and move them into the dining room floor. Everything else on the walls goes into the living room and the kitchen. The big china cabinet goes into the breakfast room and the hall tree goes into the kitchen. So, at this point I officially have every room totally stacked and messed up. I can not cook. I am living out of a laundry basket, because I can’t get to my clothes closet. I can only go to one tub, sink, and potty………….. for now. Now the plan is for Mr. Painter to totally do everything in the back bedroom and bathroom first. When he is ready to go to the front bathroom, I will have to move everything out of the  guest bedroom into the back bedroom. Then, I might have to call Miss Wall Paper Un-doer and have her on stand-by. The hall bathroom has to be totally done before he can do the entry hall. Then the laundry room and then back to the guest bedroom. Oh, did I tell you that no closet or cabinet can be done inside until every room is done? I’ll have to set everything back up in each room then empty the closets to get them painted. The saga continues………there’s still the kitchen, den and dining room to do and two of those rooms are full of all kinds of breakables.  Stay tuned for part two.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Undoing So That I Can Redo – Hell on Earth

  1. Kathy Garringer says:

    I really is awful, isn’t it!

  2. Shirley says:

    Glad you had so many over for meals in December? You sure couldn’t do it now!

  3. Lauren says:

    Go to your doctor. Ativan is a wonder drug for times such as you are having.

  4. Wendy Drew says:

    I feel for you. I bought a house a few months ago and I’m still remodeling and painting as time and money permits. I’m having withdrawals from lack of sewing. I may need real therapy if I can’t get my sewing therapy soon.

Leave a Reply

