Made Enough Chicken and Rice Soup for an Army

c s 2When I get hungry for soup, I make enough for feed the neighborhood. But, I am stingy and don’t share. I freeze it in little containers, so I can take it to school and have some later. Today is an ice day and I wanted something warm.  I got the big pot out fille dit half way with water and poured a can of chicken broth in with a 1/2 a bag of rice. Brought it to a boil and added a little salt, pepper, and garlic. I got about 3 cups of frozen chicken meat and thawed it out and dumped it in the pot with two cans of carrots. I didn’t have any onions but I did have onion flakes.  usually put in celery, but I haven’t been to the store in 3 weeks.  let it cook down a little and lunch was really good and satisfying. Chicken and rice soup, good for the soul and tummy.chicken soup 1c s 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Made Enough Chicken and Rice Soup for an Army

  1. Margaret Miller says:

    That sounds good. I have some chicken soup in the freezer that I think I will have tonight.

  2. Virginia Ann Davis says:

    Oops! Phone sent message w/o message! All your blogs are great! This one reminds me of a children’s book, “Chicken Soup With Rice”, that we read in a Children’s Literature class years ago! Your tarts sound wonderful! Your pictures are beautiful !

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

