Scrap Quilt #104 – Snow Day is Snowflake Quilt Sew Day

sf quilt 1I got up this morning and thought to myself: “Self,” I said, “Now what are you going to do all day stuck in this house with all that ice and snow outside?” A snow day here is a sew day. I looked around the studio and there staring at me was my snowflake quilt screaming at me and saying, Finish me!! Finish me!! I laid it out on the tables in the middle of the room and realized that 1/2 the machine appliques were done. It wasn’t that much more and it would be finished.  I did the machine embroidery around each snowflake, put the blocks together and then found border fabrics and did 4 borders on it. It was fun to finish and I am glad  spent the time on it today. Another one to check off my list.sf 2sf 3sf 4Iris and snowflake quilt 024

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scrap Quilt #104 – Snow Day is Snowflake Quilt Sew Day

  1. Margaret Miller says:

    Jim,

    Your snowflake quilt is beautiful!

  2. Marilyn says:

    Jim this quilt is gorgeous. Please bring it to AWOL. See u n 2 weeks. Marilyn

  3. Lana Newman says:

    I enjoy seeing all your quilts, and I think this might be my all time favorite. I love the colors, and your snowflakes always fascinate me!

  4. Wendy Drew says:

    Beautiful!!!!!!

  5. Kathy Garringer says:

    Gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

