The Return of the Headlight Paintings

thumb paintingWhen Mama moved here 9 years ago she brought everything from the farm/house here and set up her house. Everything even from the wash-house, and shop buildings was moved. What she didn’t use in her new house here, she rented the old Blue Ribbon Shoe Store and has a 2 month yard sale n Morrilton. At the end there were several of her oil paintings that didn’t sale, so I took them to keep for the grandkids later. One day I was at a sale and a man had a huge truck load of solid oak frames for 10 cents each. Iheadlight 1 bought a car load for me and school. I had them all framed and took them to the Headlight newspaper building where I worked at nights and weekends. Charlotte wanted to hang them up for color. All of the but one was painted by my mother, Dot Gatling. The log cabin is a cabin at Branson, Mo. where TeeTee, my grandmother, (Myrtle Campbell) took pictures and painted it. Most of these were done in the 1960’s and were done from cards,headlight 2 calendars, or those how-to-oil-paint books.  They were cleaning up the building and Betty emailed and said I needed to go get them. I go to see everyone including  my old boss Charlotte. I remember all of the paintings growing up at the house. We had art everywhere. Mama was the original hoarder. LOL! I guess I get it from her. headlight  3

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

