Killing Time – The Marilyn Kinsey Flag Quilt

Marilyn KinseyLast week before I went to AWOL I was just killing time in the studio. I saw some leftover scraps from my 3 small flag quilts and decided  use them up. I had just talked to my friend, Marilyn Kinsey from Texas to see when she was coming up to AWOL.  thought I would make her something. There was enough red and white strips, so the only thing I needed was some blue star fabric.  I went to my red, white and blue star box of fabric, andMarilyn  1 pulled out the first blue I saw and it was perfect. I sewed the red and white strips together, did a little measuring sewed a little and I had a top. I sandwiched it, quilted it on the machine. I gave it to her at AWOL and she seemed very pleased. It made me feel good to do something for someone special. Now, Marilyn, when are you gong to invite me down to see it hanging in your den????Marilyn 2Marilyn Kinsey

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Killing Time – The Marilyn Kinsey Flag Quilt

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Nice! I might do one like this for my daughter. I like the idea of the white and red stripes pieced. Would that work for the log cabin quilt you did with the black? Would piecing the bright colored strips randomly be too busy? I’m thinking instead of each strip one solid color what if it was multi colored? Would the log cabin design be lost?

  2. Marilyn says:

    Oh my, I’m a star, I’m on Jim’s blog. I love the flag and yes it will soon be hanging on the wall. You are welcome in our home anytime AND if you get close and don’t come see us I’ll be upset. Thanks for the flag. Marilyn

Leave a Reply

