Scrap Quilt # 107 – The Pinked Strips – A Black Log Cabin Quilt

March 8th, log cabin, snowflakes, dew Drop Inn 076Someone gave me a bag of pinked brightly-colored pinked strips. You know, cut with pinking shears. The scissors with the saw-toothed blades.  The strips were all lengths, but weren’t very wide. I cut some small black squares and started going around them like a little log cabin block. I tried to make them close to the same size with the same amount of strips around each. But, I did move some strips so they wouldn’t be exact. (Ha! Even if I wanted the exact , that wouldn’t happen.)log cabin 1 After I finished the blocks I put black around each side. I cut them square. When I laid the top out, I put half on point and half straight. The brightly colored little blocks look like they are dancing on top of the flat black. I just happened to see a bit of a multi-colored piece that matched it, so I used that fabric as the border. I don’t think I am through with this one yet. The other day I found a yard of that border fabric, so I now can figure out how to make it larger. I took the little leftovers and sewed all of them together to make a small piece of fabric.  Now to figure out what to do with that. Wonder who gave me those scraps????????black log cabinMarch 2014 B 131

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scrap Quilt # 107 – The Pinked Strips – A Black Log Cabin Quilt

  1. Margaret Miller says:

    Really cute, Jim!  I really like it.

  2. Candy Berry says:

    Really like this quilt….you always make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear!!

    • Jim Gatling says:

      LOL! Everyone gives me their sow’s ears and I keep making to show people what all they have that can be used in creative and different ways. Thank you. You kniow your quilt I made started this all up. LOL!!!

  3. Wendy Drew says:

    I like this one too! Simple but dramatic with the black in combination with the bright colors. Great idea to put some blocks on point. Makes me want to go out and buy some bright fabrics to make a quilt like this. Do you think this would work with small prints in the bright colors? How about pastels, my favorite, with red instead of the black? Or what color would you use with pastels instead of the black?

Leave a Reply

