Chair Found in Trash Now a Family Treasure

chair bathroom rose 064As I was driving through the neighborhood a couple of months ago I saw the pieces of a mahogany chair with a carved back piled up in a neighbors trash. I thought if nothing else the wood and the carved back could make a hat rack or a box. So, I threw it all in the back of my car. When I got home all the parts were there, it seemed to have fallen apart. I asked good ole Jeff the Carpenter to see if he could glue it back.  He did and brought it back. Well, of course that was a couple of months ago. Today, I called Joan to see if she could come over and help me get the seat covered. I had bought a big roll of a gold striped fabric that I have used on other things. Well, sir, she came on and in no time we had it finished. It looks great and is a wide nice chair. I rubbed it down with Restore-A-Finish and it perked it up. Thanks, Joan! What would I do without you!!!chair redoredo chair 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

