The Newly Painted Hall – Now Houses Several Collections

chairs, hall, school. CAQ meetng, art 136When Jeff the Painter painted the hall I knew I was going to completely do it differently. I had decided to put the two bookcases in the hall and put several of my small display cabinets on the shelves. I got the old book shelves from the Morrilton High School Library when they were remodeling. These were going to the dump. I took two sections to my art room and used  them for several years. When they got in the way I brought them home. Since they were solid lumber and had recessed brackets and ply-board backs, they were perfect for me.  I painted the backs the same color as the walls, so they look like theHall 1 shelves are just there.  The cases have my several collections of perfume and scent bottles, crystal tooth pick holders, miniatures, china figures, and German china doll bottles. On the other shelves there are my books of antique hankies, 50 plus Morrilton High yearbooks, miniature sewing machines, fabric rope baskets, wire doll house furniture, and my perfume bottle and purse research books. I really like seeing it all in the hall. Peoplehall 2 ask all the time, who dusts all that crap. Well, Carol, my domestic engineer, does. But, as you see there are a lot of things in glass front displays.  At the end of the hall in an old big wall clock case I have my collection of House of Hatten Christmas figures and ornaments. There are paintings by my mother and grandmother and a crazy quilt block framed from Mary L. I like my hall. But, I really like my bedroom without all that stuff crowding everything.Hall 3

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

