My New York Trip – Part 1

New York trip, finds, pete and Liz antiquing 061A friend asked me to ride to New York last week. He had business to conduct at 3 stores. My job was to keep him awake. He drove a medium U-Haul truck. It was a fast and furious trip. We left on Monday morning early and spent the night in Virginia. Then traveled to Clinton, New Jersey and spent the night Tuesday. (On Tuesday we stopped at 3 antique stores that wereVirginia 1 next to each other the highway.) On Wednesday we went into New York City and went to Christie’s, Sotheby’s, and to a huge antique store. We got into the city about 9:00 and left before 2:00. Less than 6 hours in NYC. It was not a sightseeing trip or a vacation with souvenirs shops. So, I didn’t get a T-shirt, pretzel,  or a plastic Statue of Liberty. We traveled across Virginia and spent the night Wednesday.  Thursday we left for home earlyNewark and got to Morrilton at 8:00. The only problem we had was the traffic getting into NY and driving in NY. Six lanes merge into two. Five lanes merge into one. Trying to get into a tunnel is like a free-for-all.  On the way home across the Mississippi River at Memphis there was a wreck. Three lanes merged into one  I called my brother at Forrest City to see how the traffic was and he said horrible on I-40, because of construction and rain all day.tunnel So, we got off at the first ramp after the bridge and went on Hwy 64 to Marion, Wynne, Bald Knob, Beebe, Conway, then Morrilton. That was such a leisurely, nice drive home. This is what I learned on the 4-day trip: 1. Virginia doesn’t have huge billboards on the interstate. Tennessee does. 2. Virginia has lots of trees lining the interstate for miles like a tunnel. Then there are open rolling hills with square 2 story houses with basements dottingNew York the hills. 3. Virginia has trees we don’t have here. 4. Antique prices were high in Virginia., but higher in NY. 5. Sitting in a car for 12-plus hours a day and eating fast food doesn’t help your waistline and it makes your feet swell. 6. You have to be crazy to drive into New York.  7. There is no parking places anywhere available. 8. You can see 20 yellow cabs at any one time looking in any direction. 9. Everywhere we looked there were people, people,NYNY people. Like rats in a maze. 10. Virginia is a lot cleaner than Tennessee. 11. My classmate Wing Chin was next door in NY, and I didn’t see his comment in time to visit with him. 13. If I ever go back they’ll have to knock me out and wake me up when I am at my destination. It was a neat experience. I’m glad I went. Don’t have a desire to go back anytime soon. My pictures were taken in a moving truck with a dirty windshield and rain on 4 cloudy days. Sorry.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My New York Trip – Part 1

  1. KIKI says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE ! I was following you, I feel like I went! Sounds like fun considering the circumstances! Glad you got a chance to experience it, and even more happy you shared it!

  2. There’s no place like HOME!

  3. Brenda Cody says:

    And you did all of this “without” cigarettes! You are truly nicotine free!

Leave a Reply

