My Quilts Ribbons at the Tulsa Quilt Show

I don’t make quilts to win ribbons, because I don’t make perfect quilts. I enjoy entering and seeing my quilts hung and love sharing my ideas.  “Army Green is Not My Color” was a guild challenge. The last time it was in a show the critique was really bad. And didn’t win anything. But this time I got 3rd place in the largest category in the show. The judges comment was: “Effective handling of lights, meds, and darks adds design strength to this piece.”  Of course there were things I needed to work on. That’s why I enter, so I will know what  need help on.Army green

“Rustling Roses” won a 2nd place ribbon. The judges comment was: Excellent thread painting technique that enhances your design theme. Colors are well-chosen and design complementary.” I got 5 excellents, 1 very good, 1 satisfactory. The last time this quilt was entered one judge liked the colors and one judge didn’t. It didn’t win a ribbon there.Rabling Rose

“Bobbie Always Wanted a Log Cabin” didn’t win an award but the judge’s comment was: “Affective handling of color value within these scraps.” I thought that was neat. The judge pointed out some mistakes I hadn’t seen.Tulsa Quilt Show and Blue Suede Shoes 103

“Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves” won a Committee Ribbon. That’s where someone on the quilt show committee give a ribbon for what they like. The judges comments was: ” The inner border and the ric-rac work well together to control this “RIOT” of a scrappy quilt. Applique elements contribute to the complexity of the design.” This quilt got 2 excellents and 4 very goods.fc ART & QUILT SHOW 022

“Sharon’s Complicated Heart” is a quilt I made from a screen printed block made by Sharon Heidingsfelder. It didn’t win an award, but the judge’s comment was: “You have combined unexpected fabrics and a variety of textures effectively in this design.” I like that critique.Tulsa Quilt Show and Blue Suede Shoes 102

“Insanity” is one of those quilts that just doesn’t fit the norm. It is all woven blocks and I think it would be hard to judge n normal categories. But the judge’s comment was: “Each block is visually interesting and uniquely colored.” I a glad she notices. That was what I was striving for. It did get 2 excellents and 3 very goods.Tulsa Quilt Show and Blue Suede Shoes 107

My miniature, “Seventy-Six Bottles of Beer on the Wall” is made up of 76 different fabrics n less than an 14 inch square.  The judge’s comment was: “Fabric chosen are size and scale appropriate. Diminutive beads add whimsy and support theme.”Men of Cloth Muskogee, Ok Oct.  2009 092

“Dog Berrie” is a miniature dogwood applque quilt. The judge’s comment was “Applique stitches are very well applied. Stitches provide design texture and flower realism.” t’s like she read my mind. It got 4 excellents and 2 very goods. Last time I enter “Dog Berries” one judge gave a 5 on Embellishments……. There was NO embellishments on the quilt! LOL!dog-berries-3[1]

 “Joan’s Redwork” is a quilt I helped Joan design. She won an honarable mention.  I wanted to enter it because she is working on another redwork quilt that is all my designs. The judge’s comment wa: “The hand embroidery is well executed. Pieced stars and 9 patches complement the calendar blocks.”  The funny thing about this entry. I turned it  in with was two huge yellow cat pee spots on the front. It was judged then we took it down and washed it before the show. Never know with animals around. LOL!Joan's  redwork

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Quilts Ribbons at the Tulsa Quilt Show

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Congratulations! I’m happy to see the judges see the value of your art! Well done!

  2. C Self says:

    I really enjoyed your quilts and the judges comments. Thanks for showing us.

  3. Aunt Bernadette says:

    Stopped by the quilt show while I was visiting my sister last week. “Sharon’s Complicated Heart” was my favorite, and now that I’m back in Columbia SC, I’m glad you posted a photo so that I have a bit more time to really look at it and also review your other quilts. I love your work. And thank you for devoting so much effort to your blog. It’s a great showcase for your work.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I love sharing and this way I can keep u with times, and laces, and dates. Thanks for cheching in!!!!! Oh, All of the fabric in my “Sharon’s” quilt was given to e by 5 different people. They all just fit.

Leave a Reply

