I Went to the Tulsa Flea Market Saturday

Tulsa trip 063We were lucky this weekend. It was the Tulsa Flea Market at the Tulsa fairgrounds. Dianne and I decided to go to it at 11:00 on Saturday. It is really a neat thing. I think they have a special rate, because the flea market floats. It’s not on a permanent schedule. It goes to the building that is not rented for the weekend. So, if all the buildings are rented, no flea market. But, if there is a building, flea market!! We parked in the back and walked in. The building is huge, and at first glance you think not many vendors. When you get in there are tons of vendors and lots of stuff.  I didn’t find anything until the last row. A kid was selling old Christmas ornaments. I picked up three wooden ones from the 70’s and 2 paper and pipe cleaner ones from the 50’s. I found a white oak split pie basket for $5 with a solid wooden bottom. I dealt with a “lady” that had tons of good stuff , but NOTHING was priced. I absolutely hate that!!! Either she’s lazy or is going to jack the price up forFinds at the Tulsa Flea market whoever the customer is. Well, I questioned her about some purses. Her answer was: “$25.00, $35.00, $45.00, $55.00.” I started to walk away and she decided to try to sell me something. There was only one petit point purse in good condition I would take out of the building. She finally said, “$25.”  I told her I ‘d pay $20. She sad she had to have $25. Ok. So, I walked off.   She hollered if  wanted it for $20 I could have it. I got it.  I found a cut glass egg for $12 and a blue glass piano for $3.25. The lady there was really nice. She cut the prices.  Oh, here’s a funny story: A lady had several good perfume bottles She opened the case and I looked at all the prices. VERY EXPENSIVE!!! But, to the side was a wooden man perfume bottle that she had written “Needle Case, $4.00.” Well, I knew it was a perfume bottle. Mama has one in her collection from the 1940’s. I asked her why did she have the matching woman labeled as a perfume bottle for $68.00. Huh?????? No sense what-so-ever. The pair: Man, woman. $4.00 and $68.00. Made no sense to me, so I told her what she had, and I was buying the $4.00 man.  And I broke up her set. Weird.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

