Colonial Wooden Thread Stand

Colonial Thread Stand for Needleworkers

Colonial Thread Stand for Needleworkers

I found a Colonial thread stand at an antique store n Jenks, OK when I was on my trip. I think I saw it last year there, but it was $28.00 and with tax it would be like $30. Well, it had the last two dowels broken off. I didn’t want to  pay that for that, so I didn’t. But, this year it was marked down to $10.00. Now for ten I can go home and fix it.  First I cleaned out the holes, cut the dowels, hot glued them in, stained them, then used Restore A Finish on the whole thing. Looks like new, but is old solid wood and now a new family treasure. Marty wrote and asked me what it was. It is for needleworkers/embroideres/needle pointers, etc.  to hang their thread and tools on while working.stand thread

Colonial Thread Stand for Needleworkers

Colonial Thread Stand for Needleworkers

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colonial Wooden Thread Stand

  1. Lana Newman says:

    I was wondering the same thing. I’m glad you told the rest of the story!

  2. Jim, The stand that you bought is also still used by rug hookers today to hold our 1/4 inch wool strips while we are hooking our rugs..Needlepointers would have used this on very large projects. this is your enlightenment from one happy hooker. 28 dollars was a very good price….you got a screaming deal. Your happy hooking friend.

Leave a Reply

