Judy Calhoun’s Peach Cobbler Goes to Quilt Camp

peach cobbler recipeI’m getting ready to go to my small Quilt Camp up at Mt. Eagle Resort above Clinton at Botkinburg, AR. One night I am supposed to have the evening meal.  I decided to have peach cobbler for dessert. I finally found Judy Calhoun’s recipe in the Devil Dog cookbook.  It’s a little work, but on my, it is worth it. I did follow her instructions. I called her to see if I could cook it ahead of tie and freeze it and she said it would be just great. So,Peach 1 I peeled the peaches last night and left the in a bowl with sugar all night. I made the hot water pie crust and the made the cobbler. I cooked it on the top rack for 45 minutes at 400 degrees and added a little more time, because it was still a little juicy. t turned out great. i could eat the whole thing right now. But, I do have more stuff to make another one if this one disappears before Sunday. LOL!Peach 2Chicke Pot Pie, Peach cobbler 046

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Judy Calhoun’s Peach Cobbler Goes to Quilt Camp

  1. Jaime Wilcox says:

    That looks delicious. Sometime, you should try adding a dash (or to taste) of Pumpkin Pie Spice to the peaches/sugar. Maybe that sounds strange, but it complements them well.

  2. Samantha says:

    I grew up eating crusty cobblers, not the cakey/biscuit kinds. This looks really good! I just might have to try it. Oh and it’s nice to see a male cooking blog among the sea of females!

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Thanks, Samantha. I never thought I was a cook until I realized no around here cooks and has people over. I enjoy entertaining and using the flea market finds I gather for my tables. Scroll through and you can see different recipes and table settings, etc.

  3. Samantha says:

    Ok, it’s in the oven. I’m about to head out and get some vanilla ice cream while it’s cooling. Can’t wait!

  4. Samantha says:

    This was very good! Just like the cobbler I remember. The crust was perfect!

Leave a Reply

