Scrap Quilt # 114 – Janie Gave Me Challenge Blocks at Tulsa

raorback, quilts, quilt camp 060When I was at Tulsa Janie Sutterfield gave me a stack of challenge blocks. She said she tried to put them together but didn’t. I now why now. Some of the blocks were 9′ 1/2″ and some were 8′ 1/4′. I thought, “First you must have a common denominator.” The common denominator was: they all had to be cut down to 8’1/4″. The would go together then. I did that, and it took longer to straighten them and cut them than to sew them together. Karen and Sharon came with several bolts of blends and they gave me the gray to put the border triangles in. Worked out really well. I think it needs a colorful border. I’ll find something later. Thanks, Janie!!!Janie 1raorback, quilts, quilt camp 062

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scrap Quilt # 114 – Janie Gave Me Challenge Blocks at Tulsa

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Great job of combining those blocks in a cohesive arrangement……. as usual 🙂 I really try to study your quilts and learn how to pull unusual combinations together. I have learned a lot and it still amazes me how you come up with imaginative solutions. That gray works so nicely to bring it all together.

Leave a Reply

