Happy Birthday to Me!!! July 22, 2014

557449_3630807688617_1027101536_n[1]Tuesday, July 22, was my birthday. Yesterday, I got 2 birthday cards in the mail. One from Mama and one from Darlene. That’s what made me realize my birthday was today. Today was a  typical summer day. I got up at 6:30 and put the dishes up from the dishwasher. I dried a load of clothes. I did the pictures and wrote 4 blog posts.  I took a bath. I got the quilts from my lecture into the house and up stairs.  I went to get a Dietbirthday  23 Coke at Rhonda’s and she gave it to me and wished me Happy Birthday!!! I went on to the bank. Checked on stuff. Got money. Went and paid bill at All-State.  Then I went to Plummer’s Flowers and got a couple of things and I bought a gift for a friend. When I was newly divorced, on my birthday, and years later, I would go on a buying trip and buy something special on my birthday for me. Well, I did it so long that I decided I didn’t need anything, and now I buy something for someone else and give it to them on my birthday. So, today I figured out who it was going to be this year and went shopping. Since I don’t need anything, it gives me great pleasure to give a gift to a friend. I wish I had kept a list all these years. I remember Carol, Glenda, Debbie, Ray, Myron, Mona,……..  well, I’m old and forgetful. LOL! Anyway it’s just something I like to do. Oh, if you are reading this and have gotten a birthday present from me, let me know.  JoClaire called and I went down to Hunt A Bunch and they are all auction now. No Flea Market. It was time for me to birthday 001go to see M.J. the Dietician. I lost one pound, even being gone to Nashville this weekend. I went out to Yesterday’s and ate a rib eye by myself and talked to Sharon. While eating a I got a video text from Hamp. Really neat! Then, when I got back in the car it didn’t start. I went to Jones’ Northside and Marty looked at it. Can’t tell what’s wrong now.  Just got a new battery last week. Came home and took a nap. That’s going to be rough when school starts. No Nap. When I got home I had a present from Dianna and one frombutton 001 Glenda & Herman. Oh, Judy came by and brought a gift from she and JoClaire and one from Jeanie. Liz called and gave wishes. I’ve gotten tons of greetings from my Facebook friends. I’ve tried to thank each one, but may be too many. Got the mail. Cards from Becky, Anne and Ben, and Pat W.  Judy just called and wants me to meet her and Jeanie and Jimmy at the Chinese place for supper.  I went and it was good. Jeanie bought my supper. I’m home now and fixing to watch TV. The good thing about July 22 is that I share a birthday with my insurance lady Mary Ann Lollis,  an ex-student and the mother of 3 kids I teach, Susan Dumas, Skipper’s grandson Landon, and the 3rd in line to the throne of England, Prince George.

 

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

