Dresden Flowers Found at the Base of the Mountain

dresdenOn the way up the mountain in the rain last weekend I passed the flea market. I had never stopped there and decided that way the day. I drove in and it looked like just junk. But, when I went in there was stuff everywhere. Now not great stuff but good clean stuff. I found some wooden knitting needles and some small craft heads to make things out of and some old colored jingle bells. As I went across an aisle there was the most gorgeous stack of dinner plates. Really pretty. I mean REALLY PRETTY. They were marked $2.00 each. Well, sir, I took one to the counter and continued looking.  On another table there was a vegetable bowl, a gravy boat, and a creamer for $12.00. Then I spotted 5 salad plates and 2 fruits, and a salad bowl. As I was checking out the woman threw in the 8 smaller pieces, When I got to Liz and Pete’s  started looking upDresden Plates 1 on the net. These dishes were made in 1935 in Czechoslovakia by the manufacturer Pirkenhammer. They go by a number instead of a name. The nickname is Dresden Florals or Dresden Flowers. The stock number is 11281. The neat thing is that they come in four different floral mix and match designs.  I have 3 different patterns in the dinner plates. But, the stuff the woman gave e  there was 4 different salad plates. AtRreplacements the cost of the salad was $12, the fruit was $8, and the salad bowl $12. So, she really gave me $98 worth of dishes. I couldn’t find a price on the dinner plates. Seems they are hard to find. A friend told me that they probably would go for around $30 each. So, I got about $520 worth of dishes for $28. Well, I talked myself into going back to the store and getting the gravy boat, vegetable bowl and the creamer. Now they were from the Johann Seltmann Company and made in Bavaria during the same time. But they look so much like the others I got them for $12. I washed them in the dishwasher and they came out beautiful. Can’t wait to use them in a big party. One never knows what one will find.

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dresden Flowers Found at the Base of the Mountain

  1. Deb says:

    Beautiful dishes!! What a find!

  2. Elizabeth Hardman says:

    I have a pair of vases that were forever on my grandmother’s mantle (McCulloch). Mother gave them to me. She said that Gram’s teacher gave them to Gram. She bought them at the Brussels World Fair. The pattern and flowers look a lot like the dishes you bought. The vases are numbered. That’s all I know about them. They are beautiful and sit on my mantle.

  3. Cynthia Lyons says:

    I love these dishes!!

  4. Jim Gatling says:

    They are really beautiful. I wish I had a complete set.

Leave a Reply

